Kothimbir Vadi-2

ashu's-Kothimbir Vadi, easy method.
ashu’s-Kothimbir Vadi, easy method.

Kothimbir wadi is a popular Maharashtrian snack dish. It is served as a part of the Maharashtrian Thali meal too, a favorite in the festive season. We see it being sold in many snack shops in Pune and Mumbai, cities of Maharashtra state in India.

For me the winter months are nostalgic with childhood memories when mom used to make these vadis frequently, the season when coriander was in  abundance. We nowadays see the coriander being available all year round. With changing times, the season no longer dominates the food cooked in the house, more so with me residing away from my motherland, though I would still prefer the Kothimbir vadi that is made using the coriander when in season than to the coriander that I buy at any given time of the year. I had tasted this particular kind of Kothimbir vadi in thali meals, during puja lunches, but I never made it at home until this week. I have always enjoyed Kothimbir Vadi preparation that my mother made, click here for that recipe.

Kothimbir Vadi or Coriander Roll.
Kothimbir Vadi or Coriander Roll.

It is a compulsion with me and I cannot let go of the urge to try out any new dish that I get to taste outside and like, I almost always end up making it in my kitchen. Lately I had been getting opportunity to eat this particular type of vadi on a number of occasions and the constant reminder from self to give it a try in my kitchen was always nagging the mind, finally I tried it this week. I had to invite my friends for lunch this week, planned a Maharashtrian meal menu, and hence this was the perfect starter to add to the thali menu was my thought. I tried making it in small portion on one morning and after perfecting the recipe to my taste made it for my party lunch, and the friends loved it. I was asked for my recipe and with this post I am sharing here my method of the recipe. I matched the ingredients to the taste of the Kothimbir Vadi that I had recently tasted at a Puja lunch, at my friend’s house where the food was from a local restaurant here.

This easy method recipe is my way of making it, may not be similar to traditional recipe, but tastes perfect and yum. I have now uploaded both methods of making Kothimbir wadi, and this one can be called an easy-to-make recipe, as the time required is less and almost always all the ingredients are available in the house. Do give it a try and let me know what you all think about this recipe.

Kothimbir Vadi- Easy Method

INGREDIENTS:

Coriander: 1 Bowl (finely chopped)

Chickpea Flour/Besan: 1 Bowl

Rice Flour: 1/2 Bowl

Semolina: 2 Tbsp (Optional)

GingerGarlic paste: 1 Tbsp

Curd: 2 Tbsp

Sesame seeds: 50 gms

Ajwain/ Carom seeds: 1 Tsp

Baking Soda: 1/2 Tsp

Chili Powder: 1 Tsp

Garam Masala Powder: 1 Tsp

Cooking Oil: 1 Tbsp (for batter)

Sugar: 1 Tsp

Salt: To taste

Cooking oil: 200 ml for frying

METHOD:

Clean, wash, dry and then finely chop the green Coriander. Make a paste of the ginger and garlic, taking equal amount. I add green chili also to it.

Assemble all the ingredients before starting the procedure to make this Vadi. (Pic below is for illustration, not the actual measurements used in this recipe)

IMG_6315

In a big bowl or deep plate take the finely chopped coriander. Add the gingergarlic & chili paste, the sesame seeds, ajwain, salt, chili powder, garam masala, sugar, curds, and 1 Tbsp oil. Mix well.

Take 1 bowl chickpea flour, 1/2 bowl rice flour, and 2 Tbsp Semolina in another bowl and add 1/2 tsp baking soda to it and mix all the ingredients well.

Add the mixed flours to the coriander mixture, and mix all the ingredients well. Use little water if required to make a medium consistency wet dough that is easily spreadable with hand on a vessel, or tray or plate, and is not runny or loose.

We need to grease the plate or tray or vessel with oil in which we are going to steam the vadi. Evenly spread the dough in the greased tray or plate or vessel, pressing it well with fingers for spreading evenly, as we want same thickness when we cut the vadi.

IMG_6329

Steam this for 15- 20 minutes in a pressure cooker without whistle or a steamer, or until a knife inserted comes out clean. Cool the steamed cooked dough, and then cut into small bite-sized pieces.

We can either shallow fry the vadi or deep fry in hot oil till the outer side is crispy. Deep frying gives it a more crispier look as well as taste.

Pan fried with little oil
Pan fried with little oil
Deep fried in hot oil till crispy
Deep fried in hot oil till crispy

Serve it with green chutney or chili sauce or tomato sauce. I did not make a green chutney, served here in the picture above is with green chili sauce.

NOTE: The bowl measurement is given for reference for the flour quantity, one can use any bowl-a steel wati or soup bowl. I used a ceramic soup bowl and topped it tightly with finely chopped coriander, it tastes better when lot of coriander is used. Semolina is optional, I prefer the texture it adds to the bite, but can be avoided altogether if not preferred. All the spices, ginger garlic and chili paste add to the taste, and adding a little sugar enhances all the flavors giving it a perfect sweetish ting. It tastes best with a green chutney, a coriander mint one, my preference :).

Wishing you all a great September month, will be posting some yummier recipe posts as it is the Ganpati festivity month. I welcome Ganpati Bappa morya at my humble home on the 5th of this month :), it is five days of festivity with yummy Prasad and Modak offerings.

ashu.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Kothimbir Vadi-2

    1. Yeah Archana, I was so used to eating vadi like my aai made, with me too sticking to same method. But lately was eating here as made in this other way. I always try and recreate the tasted recipes my way and this was what and how I made it.
      I shape the Tilwale methi muthias in the way you shaped the vadi.
      It is amazing how each cook adds their own unique touch to same recipe :).
      Thanks dear for your thoughts on the post.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 Thank you Veena.
      I loved what you wrote, glad to know you enjoyed them virtually :). Yeah food does bring out the old nostalgic moments shared with family.
      I read your Ganesha post, we too keep it for 5 days, so lot of cooking and festivity in the house with friends coming over for darshan.

      Like

Leave a comment